Congressional Leaders Request $200 Million for Urban Indian Health in FY22

On April 30, 28 Congressional leaders requested $200.5 million for urban Indian health in FY22 from the House Appropriations Committee.

Reps. Grijalva and Gallego requested $200.5 million for urban Indian health with $12 billion for IHS as recommended by the Tribal Budget Formulation Workgroup in a forward appropriations letter to Chairwoman Pingree and Ranking Member Joyce of the House Interior Appropriations Committee. The letter cited that this increase in funding would “make a huge difference to UIOs in providing care to urban Indians due to historically low funding levels for urban Indian health. Another letter by Reps. Adam Smith and Don Young included $200.5 million for urban Indian health and $24 million for Tribal Epidemiology Centers in FY22.

These appropriations letters come as a continued effort by NCUIH to address acute health disparities for AI/ANs living in urban areas, who suffer greater rates of chronic disease, infant mortality and suicide compared to all other populations that have only been exacerbated by COVID-19. Congress has acknowledged these the significant health care disparities in Indian Country, but continuously underfunds IHS at around $4,000 per patient, and UIOs at less than $700 per patient even though AI/ANs living in urban areas comprise over two-thirds of the total American Indian Alaska Native population.

These Appropriations letters send a powerful and straightforward message to Chairwoman Pingree and Ranking Member Joyce and members of Congress to fulfill the federal government’s trust responsibility to all AI/ANs to provide safe and quality healthcare, funding for urban Indian health must be significantly increased.

NCUIH is grateful for the support of the following Representatives:

  • Ruben Gallego
  • Raul Grijalva
  • Adam Smith
  • Don Young
  • Nanette Diaz Barragan
  • Karen Bass
  • Earl Blumenauer
  • Emanuel Cleaver II
  • Sharice L. Davids
  • Diana DeGette
  • Suzanne DelBene
  • Sylvia Garcia
  • Steven Horsford
  • Sheila Jackson Lee
  • Pramila Jayapal
  • Ro Khanna
  • Teresa Leger Fernandez
  • Zoe Lofgren
  • Doris Matsui
  • Gwen Moore
  • Eleanor Holmes Norton
  • Tom O’Halleran
  • Ilhan Omar
  • Raul Ruiz, MD
  • Kim Schrier, MD
  • Greg Stanton
  • Marilyn Strickland
0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *