NCUIH Endorses New SDPI Legislation from Senators McSally, Murkowski, Sinema

On June 11, 2020, Senator Martha McSally (R-AZ) introduced a new bill which would reauthorize the Special Diabetes Program for Indians (SPDI) for five years and would raise funding for the program to $200 million per year. The bipartisan bill is cosponsored by Senators Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) and Krysten Sinema (D-AZ).

In support of the bill, NCUIH Executive Director Francys Crevier stated, “Thank you to Senators McSally, Murkowski and Sinema for their continued leadership in helping Indian Country during an essential time. No one should have to choose to between paying for their insulin or paying their rent. Thankfully the Special Diabetes Program for Indians is ensuring access to health care. The vital services provided by the SDPI are invaluable and have proven success in decreasing diabetes prevalence in the American Indian/Alaska Native populations that are most susceptible. As our nation battles a pandemic exacerbated by diabetes, it is imperative that the Special Diabetes Program for Indians be reauthorized for the long-term to ensure better outcomes for the patients and families who depend on this critical care.”

American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/ANs) have a greater chance of having type 2 diabetes than any other group. SDPI is an extremely successful program for both Tribes and for Urban Indian Organizations (UIOs).


The Special Diabetes Programs for Indians Reauthorization Act of 2020

  • Reauthorizes funding for the SDPI for 5 years, from fiscal years 2021 through 2025.
  • Provides an increase in funding from $150 million to $200 million per year.
  • Allows tribal awardees to have the option to receive SDPI funds through self-governance contracts, cooperative agreements, or compact under the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (ISDEAA).

Text of the bill can be found HERE.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *